Jump to content

Thomas McCarthy

Thomas McCarthy was born in Cappoquin, Co Waterford in 1954.

His poetry collections include The First Convention (Dublin, The Dolmen Press, 1978); The Sorrow-Garden (London, Anvil Press Poetry, 1981); The Non-Aligned Storyteller (Anvil Press Poetry, 1984); Seven Winters in Paris (Anvil Press Poetry and Dublin, Dedalus, 1989); The Lost Province (Anvil Press Poetry 1996); and Mr Dineen’s Careful Parade, New & Selected Poems (Anvil Press Poetry, 1999); and The Last Geraldine Officer (Anvil Press Poetry, 2009).

His fiction includes Without Power (Poolbeg Press, 1991); and Asya and Christine (Poolbeg Press, 1992).
He has also published a memoir, The Garden of Remembrance (Dublin, New Island Books, 1998).

McCarthy’s awards include The Patrick Kavanagh Award (1977); The Alice Hunt Bartlett Prize (1981); The Annual Literary Award, American Irish Foundation (1984); and the O’Shaughnessy Poetry Award, Irish-American Cultural Institute, 1991.

He is a member of Aosdána, and lives in Cork.

Anvil Press Poetry