Jump to content

Eiléan Ní Chuilleanáin

Eiléan Ní Chuilleanáin was born in Cork in 1942.

Her poetry collections are Acts and Monuments (Dublin, The Gallery Press, 1972); Site of Ambush (The Gallery Press, 1975); Cork (The Gallery Press, 1977); The Second Voyage (The Gallery Press, 1977, revised edition 1986/Mass. Wake Forest University Press, 1991); The Rose Geranium (The Gallery Press, 1981 – includes a revised version of Cork); The Magdalene Sermon (Dublin, The Gallery Press, 1989/Wake Forest, 1990); The Brazen Serpent (The Gallery Press, 1994/ Wake Forest,1995); The Girl Who Married the Reindeer (The Gallery Press, 2001/Wake Forest, 2002); Selected Poems (London, Faber and Faber/The Gallery Press, 2008); and The Sun-fish (The Gallery Press, 2009/Wake Forest University Press, 2010), for which she was awarded the International Griffin Poetry Prize, 2010.

Her books have previously been published in the UK by Bloodaxe of Tarset, Northumberland.

She has published or co-published books of poetry translated from Irish, Italian and Romanian, most recently Legend of the Walled-Up Wife, translations from the Romanian Illeana Malancioiu (The Gallery Press, 2011).

She won the Patrick Kavanagh Award for Acts and Monuments in 1973, and The Magdalene Sermon was short-listed for The Irish Times-Aer Lingus Award in 1990, and was nominated for the European Literature Prize in 1992. The Irish-American Cultural Institute awarded her the O’Shaughnessy Prize for Poetry in 1992.

With her husband, the poet MacDara Woods, she is one of the continuing editors of the long-running literary journal, Cyphers, which they founded along with poets Leland Bardwell and the late Pearse Hutchinson.

She is a member of Aosdána, and lives in Dublin.

The Gallery Press