Jump to content

Macdara Woods

MacDara Woods was born in Dublin in 1942.

His collections of poetry include Decimal D. Sec Drinks in a Bar in Marrakesh (Dublin, New Writers Press, 1970); Early Morning Matins (Dublin, The Gallery Press, 1973); Stopping the Lights in Ranelagh (Dublin, The Dedalus Press, 1987); Miz Moon (The Dedalus Press, 1988); The Hanged Man Was Not Surrendering (The Dedalus Press, 1990); Notes From the Country of Blood-Red Flowers (The Dedalus Press, 1994); Selected Poems (The Dedalus Press, 1996); The Nightingale Water (The Dedalus Press, 2001); Knowledge in the Blood, New & Selected Poems (2001), Artichoke Wine (The Dedalus Press, 2006); and The Cotard Dimension (Dedalus Press, 2011).

He translated Redwan Abuswesha’s The King of the Dead and other Libyan Tales (Martin Brian & O’Keefe, London 1978), and his work is on archive in the universities of Harvard and Michigan.
Woods’ work has been translated into some 12 languages, and has also has been set to music and perfomed by artists including Anuna and Bonita Hill.

With wife, the poet Eiléan Ní Chuilleanáin, he is one of the founders and continuing editors of the long-running literary journal, Cyphers; along with poets Leland Bardwell and the late Pearse Hutchinson.

He is a member of Aosdána, and lives in Dublin.

Dedalus Press