Jump to content

Paula Meehan

Paula Meehan was born in Dublin in 1955.

Her poetry collections include Return and No Blame (Dublin, Beaver Row, 1984); Reading the Sky (Beaver Row, 1986); The Man Who Was Marked by Winter (Oldcastle, Co Meath, The Gallery Press, 1991 – reprinted 1992, 1994 and 1999), which was shortlisted for the Irish Times/Aer Lingus Irish Literature Prize for Poetry; Pillow Talk (Gallery, 1994 – reprinted 1997 and 2000), which was shortlisted for the Irish Times Literature Prize for Poetry; Mysteries of the Home: A Selection of Poems (Newcastle Upon Tyne, Bloodaxe Books, 1996); Dharmakaya (Manchester, Carcanet Press, 2000); and Music for Dogs (Dublin, Dedalus, 2008).

She has written plays for children and adults, including (published) Mrs Sweeney (Dublin, New Island Books, 1999); and Cell (New Island Books, 2000).

Her awards include the Marten Toonder Prize by the Arts Council and the Butler Award for Poetry by the Irish American Cultural Institute.

She is a member of Aosdána, and lives in Dublin.

Dedalus Press